Shine Road pub, Nara

While my room at the Fujita Hotel might have been on special, food and drink prices reflected the 4 Star rating. On this sort of trip, the thought of paying 10,000Y to eat was not retained long. Off to find an ‘izakaya’ Japanese style pub.

Shine Road – in under the sign

There are eateries everywhere you go. Choice is not difficult if you use two basic rules. 1. go where Japanese are eating. 2. be willing choose something off a menu you may not understand. Now whether Shine Road was an izakaya or not, it was cheap, pleasant, quick and good food, and had a number of locals coming and going. The menu comprised seemingly endless varieties of meat and vegetable, as long as you wanted it fried and put on a stick. Very nice, especially the sweet potato.

After the long bike ride, a good Japanese beer was needed, so I ordered a Kirin, not in a glass but in a bottle – assuming it to be 360ml or so. Aw no, a bloody big bottle. Had to be polite and knock it off quick time.

(Sunday 13th March, 2011)

About TonyJ2

I live in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. I started writing stories about my trips to Japan largely to be able to print them out for my Mum to read. Now it has got a bit out of control. After nine trips, 100+ posts and another 200 in rough draft, my irregular postings on Having a Ball in Japan will go on for a few years yet. Having a Ball in Japan is not just a bunch of travel photos, and picks up my interests in the history and culture of Japan, emergency services and disaster management, as well as hours travelling by railways big, small and tiny. Awareness to Action takes the emergency services and disaster management theme deeper into experience and resilience. Effectively Awareness to Action is my professional blog. My partner and I have been lucky enough to do a fair bit of travel both in Australia and overseas. Escaping the Nest chronicles our times in United States, France, The Netherlands, Belgium, Italy and soon to be Ireland. Tony
This entry was posted in Eating and drinking, Small Towns and Villages and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.