Commuters

Having got up real early to ring Veronica, I wandered around looking for a cafe place. Found one, at the end of an orderly queue of office commuters who were patiently waiting for the doors to open at 7:30am. I have seen some good queues in my days in Japan, but this one would have to be in my top 2. Precise spacing. Still, not hopping from foot to foot. Against the wall and out of the way of other pedestrians.

Chowing down with my Japanese fare of my latte from one of those instant machines, and my ham and cheese toasty, I sat next to an office worker at the bench looking out onto Asakusa-dori. No glances, no conversation, both of us fixed. And we weren’t the only ones doing this, we had probably thousands of comrades doing the same thing this morning.

(Thursday 28th July, 2011)

About TonyJ2

I live in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. I started writing stories about my trips to Japan largely to be able to print them out for my Mum to read. Now it has got a bit out of control. After nine trips, 100+ posts and another 200 in rough draft, my irregular postings on Having a Ball in Japan will go on for a few years yet. Having a Ball in Japan is not just a bunch of travel photos, and picks up my interests in the history and culture of Japan, emergency services and disaster management, as well as hours travelling by railways big, small and tiny. Awareness to Action takes the emergency services and disaster management theme deeper into experience and resilience. Effectively Awareness to Action is my professional blog. My partner and I have been lucky enough to do a fair bit of travel both in Australia and overseas. Escaping the Nest chronicles our times in United States, France, The Netherlands, Belgium, Italy and soon to be Ireland. Tony
This entry was posted in Big Cities, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.