Packing. Not yet competent

You would think that after a dozen overseas trips that I would be able to get packing down to a fine art. Well think again.

I am certainly a long way off being competent in the art of packing light. After every trip I write down what I did not use or could have done with out. How hard can it be?

Maybe I could start by getting out one get of those lists before I travel next time. Here’s my last horror story.

The March 2015 trip to Japan was a holiday although it was hung around the United Nations World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction held in Sendai. But I was not an Official Delegate to that event, so I really did not need for Rural Fire Service (RFS) clothing.

But for some unclear reason I did pack an RFS shirt, bulky jumper and two polo shirts. Sat in the bag the whole trip. Maybe I did that to sell on the black market if I ran out of cash.

Other stuff that stayed in bag: a second jumper, singlet (shows my age), a long sleeve shirt, track pants, micro fibre towel (who actually uses them?). So I lumbered around a very large suitcase, squeezing it into rooms just larger than the case.

For stories on the things I get up to that pays for traveling, see my blog Bushfire Resilience. For more stories on travels around places in addition to Japan, go to Escaping the Nest.

 

 

About TonyJ2

Taking regular visitors routes but more often just where the trains or buses go. Japan leads the way.
This entry was posted in Accommodation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.