Ok. Ok. I am wearing tights.

The universal snow symbol near Akita was a good clue that Kakunodate was not going to miss out on the upcoming cold snap. Predicted light snow from Tuesday when i was arriving, through till Friday AM, with the wind chill dropping to -12 Tuesday and rising to a great -5 by Friday.

When I got to Kakunodate it was actually a blizzard. Fantastic for this Australian used to heat and bush fires. White everywhere. I am not one for moping around the hotel foyer. I have traveled too far for that. So on with every piece of clothing and get amongst it.

Including those wooly hiking leg-ins that my kids insisted were tights. In this weather, I had everything on. Kids, I am happy to say I was wearing tights.

I don’t usually do selfies when I am getting dressed, so you will have to make do with these photos from March 10 and 11 2015, Kakunodate and Tawako, Akita Prefecture.

For stories on the things I get up to that pays for traveling, see my blog Bushfire Resilience. For more stories on travels around places in addition to Japan, go to Escaping the Nest.

This entry was posted in Small Towns and Villages, Walks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.